Board of Directors

Board of Directors
Peter Merton

Peter Merton, an Otago University Pharmacy graduate, has been involved in the pharmaceutical industry in New Zealand and overseas since the early 1980s. His involvement with the company goes back to the late 1990s, and he played an active part in the initial industry consolidation when Amcal and Unichem brands merged to form Pharmacybrands Limited approximately 11 years ago.

Following the merger of Life Pharmacy Limited (LPL) with Pharmacybrands Limited in 2009 Peter assumed the role of Chairman of the Group (now referred to as the Green Cross Health Group). He is also a significant shareholder in the company through his interest in Cape Healthcare Limited. Peter has previously held the roles of Chief Executive of the Propharma/Healthcare Logistics businesses.

Andrew Bagnall
Non-Executive Director

Andrew Bagnall holds a Commerce Degree from Otago University and a MBA from Michigan State University. Andrew was a significant investor in Life Pharmacy Limited and following the merger with Pharmacybrands Limited (later renamed Green Cross Health) has continued to hold a significant shareholding in the merged entity.

In Mr Bagnall’s earlier career, he was a leading figure in the New Zealand travel industry establishing and managing Gullivers Travel Group which became the major distributor of wholesale and retail travel services in New Zealand. Gullivers Travel Group was eventually listed on the New Zealand and Australian stock exchanges and was subsequently sold to ASX listed S8. Andrew was also involved in co-developing one of New Zealand’s first commercial retirement villages. Andrew now runs his own private investment company, Segoura, which manages investments in various businesses. He also maintains a keen interest in sports car racing.

John Bolland
Non-Executive Director

John Bolland has more than 20 years experience in private equity, senior management and corporate finance. This includes 14 years with Ernst & Young, where he had Partner level responsibility in Corporate Finance and Audit & Business Advisory. John's current role is managing a closely held private investment fund, including non-executive roles in a number of the fund's investments. John holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Auckland and is a Member of the New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants.

Patrick Davies
Non-Executive Director

Patrick Davies has been in executive management roles in the healthcare industry for more than 20 years and held senior roles across many industry sectors including pharmacy, primary care, pharmaceutical and consumer products. Patrick joined FH Faulding & Company Limited in 2001 where he worked in various corporate and divisional commercial management roles across the group. Patrick then went on to hold General Manager positions at Mayne Group Limited and Symbion Health Limited. He was Chief Executive Officer of Symbion Pty Ltd for almost six years before being appointed EBOS Group Chief Executive Officer in July 2014.

Patrick is a non-executive director of Green Cross Health Limited and a director of Australia's National Pharmaceutical Services Association. Patrick holds a Bachelor of Economics from the University of Adelaide and a Masters of Business Administration from the Australian Graduate School of Management.

Ken Orr
Independent Director

Ken Orr has had over 25 years as a community pharmacist and is currently a partner in a group of pharmacies in Northland. Mr Orr has been a director of Manaia PHO since it’s formation in 2003 and is currently the President of the NZ Pharmacy Guild, which represents the business interests of community pharmacies. Ken joined the Board in September 2009 as an alternate director and was appointed as an Independent Director in March 2012.

Keith Rushbrook
Independent Director

Keith Rushbrook is a retired partner of the international accounting firm KPMG.

Keith is a Fellow Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and has been Chairman of its Audit Committee, Deputy Chairman of the Accounting Research and Standards Board, Chairman of the Working party that developed the Conceptual Framework for Financial Reporting in New Zealand and Chairman of Advanced Business Education Limited, a subsidiary of the Institute. He was also Manager of the Accounting Standards Review Board during the period of implementation of NZ IFRS.

He is a director of a number of companies including: Austins Food Design Events Limited, KC Securities Limited, and Putakeest Coast Limited. He is also Chairman of the Advisory Board of Development West Coast.

Dame Margaret Millard
Independent Director

Invited to join the board following the acquisition of Access Homehealth by Green Cross Health in 2014, Dame Margaret Millard had previously been a director on the board of Access Homehealth, which was owned by Rural Women New Zealand.

Dame Margaret Millard was awarded the Dame Companion New Zealand Order of Merit in 2002 for services to the rural community. She has held many directorships and governance roles including positions on the Nursing Council of New Zealand, the board of Rural Women New Zealand, the Open Polytechnic of New Zealand, Federated Farmers and the Eastern and Central Community Trust.

Anthony Edwards

Independent Director

Dr Tony Edwards is a founding director and shareholder of The Doctors Group, which originated in Napier in 1989. The Doctors Group became part of Radius Medical in 2005, which was in turn acquired by Green Cross Health (then Pharmacybrands) in 2011. The Doctors is the primary brand of medical centres for Green Cross Health Medical.

Tony has been a board member of Medical Centres within the group since 1989. He is currently chairman of Te Matau a Maui Health Trust which is the owner of Health Hawke’s Bay Limited. He continues in his part time integrative Medical Practice at The Doctors Napier, where he is also the Managing Director. Dr Tony Edwards was a University of Queensland graduate in 1979. After 8 years in solo general practice, he became a founding director and shareholder of The Doctors Group originating in Napier in 1989.